Uncategorized

Saturday Saves and Safes

 Saturday’s will be dedicated to a few things I WANT to try (save for later) and a few things I have tried (Safe, already tried!) ….Get it? !

 IMG_2529[1]IMG_2528[1]

Recipes I want to try (Save)

 

Peach Overnight oats

apple pie smoothie

 I really want to make crepes!

AND have a crepe party with a crepe bar 

House things (Save)

How to create a gallery wall (for under $20)

So doing this for my office!!

Will someone PLEASE invite me somewhere where I can wrap a gift using this paper!

  

I really need a lamp behind my couch, I can NOT see or read comfortably.  Id love to have recess lighting, but do not have the time or the money for that at this point. So I am thinking of getting a hanging shelf with a lamp on it!! Yay!! Thanks Mike for another BRIGHT idea (lol, get it?! ) 

Here are some inspirations….

Handsome--and affordable--bedside table made of wood corbels topped by a slate roof shingle. | Photo: Cressida Payavis | thisoldhouse.comPerch Shelf with Lamp | by Dino Sanchez.

 LLOOVVEE!!!!   How To Build A Corner Shelf (For a small bathroom.)

 (With lamp, obviously)

 Create a corner shelf with room for paper storage out of a magazine rack.

(Safe) Recipes

 

Jersey tomato, cream cheese, fresh pepper sandwiches!

IMG_2509[1]

(MMMMM Thanks MikeIMG_2533[1]
, for the idea
AND tomatoes!)

 

 Cauliflower fried rice (adapted from Lexi’s clean kitchen)

Ingredients

  1. 1 head cauliflower (I use a large one)
  2. 1 onion, chopped
  3. 2-3 carrot stalks, chopped
  4. 1 cup organic snow peas, chopped
  5. 1 zucchini, chopped
  6. 1 head broccoli, finely chopped
  7. 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  8. 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  9. 1/4 cup scallions, chopped
  10. Handful of spinach
  11. 4 organic eggs
  12. 2 pieces organic boneless chicken breasts, diced (or protein of choice)
  13. 1 tbsp garlic powder
  14. 1 tsp onion powder
  15. 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (more to taste)
  16. 2 tbsp soy sauce or tamari (I used low sodium organic)
  17. 1/2 tsp sea salt, more to taste
  18. 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper

Instructions

  1. Using your food processor or cheese grater, pulse/grate cauliflower until rice consistency
  2. Cut up all veggies you’re going to use and set aside
  3. In one pan, heat 1 tbsp oil and sauté 2 cloves crushed garlic, add in onions and sauté for 5 minutes, then add in the rest of your veggies (except for spinach) and mix well for 6-8 minutes
  4. Add in protein of choice and cook until fully cooked
  5. Add cauliflower rice to the pan and mix well, let cook for 5 minutes, stirring often.
  6. 6, Make a hole in the center of your rice and put eggs in. Once scrambled in the center, mix in completely with the rice. Add scallions and mix again.
  7. Add garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper, soy sauce, and mix well
  8. Add spinach and mix until sautéed
  9. Taste and adjust spices as desired

LOOK AT THESE GREEN BEANS!! LOL 

IMG_2523[1]

Safe – Places

The Land Of Make Believe (review)

Overall: B

cute day trip (or even a fun getaway) if you have kids!! I went with my friend and her son to The Land of Make Believe, on a beautiful Friday J We left early, it was a nice (but long) ride.  The towns we drove through were very cute and pleasant and I definitely saw a few places I’d like to go back and visit (like the one that has the BEST cheesecake!?  What?!)

I have never been to Storybook Land, but Donna, said it was similar, or at least it reminded her of it.  The lines were short to get in. THEY ONLY ACCEPT CASH AND DISCOVER.  Please make note of this before you go, however they do offer and ATM ($60 min. withdrawl)  Once inside everything is cash, so bring cash

The price ($25) included both water park and rides.   There were a handful of games and rides, the waterpark was the highlight. They had two “Splash” play zones with pirate ships, water buckets, sprinklers, etc, a lazy river to lounge on and some water slides.  It was small but pleasant.  Earlier on it was not crowded, but the later it became, the more the crowd grew.  The had double and single tubes, and for the handsome little guy that was with us, it was plenty.  They did. have some “older” rides that older kids would enjoy. 

IMG_2512[1]

The highlight (for me) was Santa’s barn.  It was such a cute little idea!! You walk through a little Santa village AND get to sit and take a picture with Santa at the end.  It reminded me of Christmas time…….and its August! Wooo.  Similar to Macy’s Dickens village (but not as big)  Cute for kids.  Inside there also was a place to get pizza, ice cream and a few shops (Be aware, you can NOT bring drinks inside)

The park also has a train that goes around the entire park, however it was closed the day we were visiting L Bummer!  A little candy cane village and maze were also a favorite of our little traveler. 

The staff……all young European kids.  They were very very VERY strict with their rules. It was odd, to say the least. You HAD to have on a shirt, short, shoes to go on any rides ( a little girl had a bathing suit with shorts on top and was not allowed to get on the ride until she put a shirt on).  The games were supervised by game “Nazis”. Poor Holden’s ball bounced back at him and his eyes lit up, he thought he would have another shot (since NO ONE else was playing)  but the attendant grabbed the ball and said “No you already had your turn”  Ouch.

The gift shop.  Woah. CHEAP stuff!! I picked up a bunch of items for the classroom, fun, older toys, felt board, glow in the dark insects, etc

IMG_2520[1]

IMG_2521[1]

.  We also got some fudge.  I got my mom some rum raisin, a favorite. I hope it is good, since they did NOT provide any samples of the fudge (as Holden so efficiently pointed out , haha) we are hoping our money was well spent   **UPDATE** Mom LOVED the fudge 🙂

IMG_2522[1]

Overall it was a very fun, pleasant and stress free day.  I would def. go back, especially with younger children.  You do not have to fight the crowds and it has a fun nostalgic feel to it, brought me back to something I would have done when I was a child

Thank you Donna for finding another great place!!  

Seasons 52 (with Meg!)  A + (food, service, ambiance!)

IMG_2532[1]

 IMG_2530[1]Congrats Meghan!! She is glowing!

IMG_2531[1]

Safe – Classroom things

 (Safe) Classroom stuff

We wrote our OWN alien story! This was SOOOO much fun!! I read a cute alien story to begin, THEN I gave my kids a topic starter.  We each took turns and ADDED to the story (I wrote their names in parenthesis after they added).  They were able to practice patience, use their imagination and most of all feel so PROUD of themselves!

IMG_2511[1]

Later I had them draw their own covers for our book AND had them practice typing their parts of the story on the computer!  I printed out copies for each student and attached their cover.  Then we read it all together.

IMG_2537[1]

SO CUTE, easy and Fun!!

Safe – Sleep like an astronaut

So cute!  I showed and discussed how astronauts sleep in outerspace!! So cool!! Did you know they are strapped, blinded and cut off from noise ? J  Like this

Then had my guys try it out for themselves!! we practiced getting in a sleeping bag, put on sunglasses and headphones (did not have earmuffs)  Then we layed down and I tucked them all in very tightly, just like an astronaut would be!

IMG_2536[1]

They really enjoyed this so much AND LEARNED during the process!!

(Safe)  House décor

My pillows arrived today (SURPRISE! that was super fast! Thanks AMAZON!!). I like them, but do not LOVE them for my hope chest seating.  I prefer how it looks with the lighter color and I am wondering now if I should have went with my first choice of these1

I may return, OR I may rearrange my pillows a bit and keep the grayish ones on the couch……..we shall see!

Here is what I ended up getting

3

 

YOUR TURN!

 

1.  What time do you go to bed during the week? weekends?

2.  Do you eat the same breakfast daily or do you always change it up?

3.  How does your body feel today? What feels good? What aches?

1 thought on “Saturday Saves and Safes”

Leave a Reply

