Healthy Lifestyle

Wednesday Wants 10.8.14

I want…..to organize my notebooks like THIS!! Omg, I am so excited!!!  I want notebooks for everything!! Journaling, school stuff, recipes! Gahhhh

I want…..to do this for some of my struggling readers

Practice sight words with a slap!

I want…..to try kombocha

I want..…to travel alone 🙂

 

I want.….to admit how much I enjoy going places alone and meeting new people.  I love the freedom of being able to give my FULL attention to others!

I want …..to make this cute fall wreath

I want…..to plan a trip to NYC, with an itinerary (I need some recommendations!)

I want…..to learn more about dyslexia

(Thank you Lindsay for bringing this to my attention!!!)  xoxo

I want…..to say how much I am LOVING “Gone Girl”.  I am only a few chapters in, but loving the portrayal of relationships…..I can relate to a lot of the feelings, and I feel most of the world can.  It makes me sad and makes me want more

I want…..the phone to ring!

I want…..to check out ShrimpFest 

I want…..to get “it” back

I want…..someone to dress me.  I want to look cute, trendy but most importantly COMFY! Comfort is all that matters to me these days!

Just got a new denim shirt as well! :) I LOVE FALL

I want……to share how CUTE this necklace is!

Make sure all of your friends get a pizza your heart

I want…..to say how DELICIOUS Chicken with cashews is!  OMG!

Cashew chicken stirfry - easy. Oh yum! Could probably make this extra spicy for a little kick! Would be good w/o cashews too

I want……

Bring the beach into your own backyard with this Seashell Garland. Made with real starfish and assorted shells, this rope-bound garland will add a hearty dose of coastal charm to any room or patio. All you'll need is a cool ocean breeze.

I want…..

Fried Pickle Poppers

Fried Pickle Poppers

I want..…to make crepes this weekend (Or at least try some at a crepery/breakfast spot)

Lemon Crepes--recipe for the crepes and the lemon curd. Possibly add to it. Top with whipped cream.

I want…..to replicate

20 Cute and Easy Hairstyle Ideas and Tutorials

I want…..to make

{coastal pumpkins}  For when I spend Halloween on the beach!!

DIY Sand Embellished Painted Pumpkins with coastal-themed designs :: (via Sand & Sisal post on 9/17/2013 - "Coastal Pumpkins")

Want to decorate for fall - but use less traditional fall colors?  This just might be for you!

Beachy Fall Decor in an Ocean Front Condo: http://beachblissliving.com/blue-and-orange-fall-decor/

I want……to learn how to take better photos for my blog (especially of food!)

 I want.….to make this soup

hearty homemade vegetable soup 2

 I want……to try goat cheese but am SO scared. My mom got very sick after eating it once on a recent trip…..I am traumatized, I am scared I WILL GET SICK TOO (I know its in my head, but I can not get over it!)  Not to mention the fact it comes from a “goat” kinda skeeves me out….not sure why, is a cow much better?!  NO!

Whipped Honey Goat Cheese Crostini with Simple Strawberry Sauce

Whipped Honey Goat cheese crostini

 I want……these boots!  I have NEVER been a fan of low boots (bc of my calves) but I am really loving these!

IMG_8342

I want……Chipolte Pumpkin Soup

Yields 6
Ingredients
  1. 1 onion – diced roughly
  2. 3 cloves of garlic – diced roughly
  3. 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  4. 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  5. 1 teaspoon salt
  6. 1 teaspoon black pepper
  7. 1 chipolte pepper in adobe sauce – seed the pepper
  8. 1 tablespoon of the adobe sauce from the chipolte pepper
  9. About 2 cups of red potatoes – diced
  10. About 2 cups of green apple – diced (this was 2 large apples for me)
  11. 1 15 oz can of pumpkin puree (or 1.5 cups of cooked fresh pumpkin)
  12. 1/4 a cup of uncooked red lentils – pulsed or chopped into small pieces
  13. 1/4 a cup of walnuts (or almonds) – pulsed or chopped into small pieces (can be done with the lentils)
  14. 2 cups vegetable broth
  15. 2 cups water
In the Instant Pot
  1. Using the “saute” feature, saute the onion and garlic until starting to brown – 3 – 4 minutes
  2. Add the spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, black pepper, chipolte chili and adobe sauce) and stir well
  3. Add the potatoes, apples, pumpkin puree, ground red lentils, ground walnuts, vegetable broth and water
  4. Click the “manual” button and reduce the cooking time to 4 minutes over high pressure
  5. Once cooking is complete, let naturally release for 10 minutes and then release any remaining pressure.
  6. Carefully open the lid and transfer the soup (it’ll be hot) into a blender or food processor. (If you have an immersion blender, use it instead!).
  7. Blend until COMPLETELY smooth.
  8. Serve warm.
On the stove top
  1. Saute the onion and garlic over medium heat.
  2. Once softened, add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil.
  3. Cover and cook until potatoes are soft.
  4. Transfer to a blender or food processor and blend until creamy.
  5. Serve warm.
Notes
  1. This soup is filling enough to be a meal, but is great along with salad and crusty bread as well.
By Chelsea
I want…..to say I have mastered MOST of my summer goals. Therefore I WANT to make new Fall goals now 🙂

Your Turn

1.  I want to hear from you! Tell me something you WANT??
2.  Tell me what you WANT for your next birthday?
3.  What is your Fall goal?
1 thought on “Wednesday Wants 10.8.14”

Leave a Reply

