Healthy Lifestyle

Weekend Update and Week Ahead 10/25/14

I absolutely LOVE weekends.

Weekends are my happy time. I love waking up without the alarm (even though its still around the same time I normally wake up, my own internal clock! grr), enjoying my coffee and reading my newspaper. I love the feeling that the whole day is still ahead of me. I can do whatever I want, when I want, how I want…..Its so great to feel “free”

I was a little nervous that I was going to ruin the weekend for myself, as I sometimes do.  Or at least not appreciate it as best I can….however I did NOT allow that to happen this time! I talked a bit with my cousin (thank you for making me feel SO MUCH better), saw my parents and carved my first successful pumpkins with two lovely ladies that I am REALLY loving getting to know….I am actually excited to see them, and look forward to it! That is not typical of me.  I told them tonight that they really even me out, or balance me.  They are BOTH so relaxed, calm, composed along with smart, pretty, funny and amazingly accepting ❤ Not to mention they are both so well balanced, whether they believe it themselves or not 🙂

 I had a blast and am also proud of my first attempt at carving!

IMG_3898.JPGIMG_3899.JPGIMG_3901.JPG

IMG_3910.JPG

She was a little upset that I did not make her a Snoopy one…..lol

NEXT YEAR!!

mice infested...would make the holes more "chewed out" - via martha stewart

I made these cute little cantaloupe and blackberry skewers to go with the chocolate fondue…..Orange and black, I thought cheese and olives would be cute too , serve with crackers. Spooooooky

IMG_3900-0.JPG

Denise goes above and beyond all the time. She is such a great hostess! I love her home and feel so comfortable there!  There’s just something so comforting and welcoming…..I do not normally have that feeling anywhere!!  Maybe its Bella, maybe its Denise……maybe its a lil’ bit of everything 🙂 I feel safe with them (and I don’t mean safe as from ghosts, intruders, etc) Just safe to be …..me 🙂

I had to stop at Target for some skewers, so as EVERYONE knows, I left with MORE than just skewers 🙂

I found this pretty, pink, soft oversized sweater (picturing with gray tights, boot socks and a scarf!)

Merona® Polka Dot Scarf - Red

This scarf in burgandy 🙂

and the best part….I did NOT forget the skewers! I usually forget the ONE thing I go to Target for 🙂 Phew!

Week(s) Ahead

  • I am so excited I finally downloaded The Goldfinch on my mom’s Kindle! I am super excited to read our next book together!  She has some catching up to do……however I am NOT worried , the amount that she reads, she will be surpassing me VERY soon!
  • I really want to go to The Rocky Horror Show. Its coming to Hammonton Halloween weekend……I went a few years ago in New Hope and it was SO MUCH FUN!! I came home with rice and all sorts of stuff in my bra, pants, pockets……

RockyHorror_web

  • I am really looking forward to seeing my “nephews” on Halloween!!
  • I really miss trick-or-treaters. The past 7 years at my condo I have not had any. That is right. Not one. Zero. Zilch.  I miss it! It was always a favorite of mine to see the cute and excited kids show up, so innocent and sweet and excited!! Brings back many memories of collecting pillow cases FULL of candy

Also, my mother used to hide my candy stash from me!  I bet she was taking all the good stuff for her and dad! (LOL)  I am glad she did, otherwise I probably would have made myself sick!

These were SOME of my favorites:

Banana Laffy Taffy Mini (10g)

These were always left for last……..If I really needed/wanted candy I would force myself to eat them…otherwise, see choices above

Tootsie Rolls Thin Size - 280 / JarAlmond Joy

THESE……(What were they!?)

Milk Duds Snack Size Candy, 9.3 oz

  • I definitely want to make this for some of my struggling students (to help with 1-1 correspondence, counting skills, adding, so many uses!)

  • My next read:  The Light Between Oceans
  • My parents have chickens. We have FRESH eggs, all the time. I am totally doing this with our egg shells!! (click the picture for actual site)
    • 20 Insanely Clever Gardening Tips And Ideas

FYI!! 🙂

36 Kitchen Tips and Tricks That Nobody Told You About

  • MIKE!!! Try this HOMEMADE WEED KILLER!! (non toxic!!)

  • I also plan on making LIly some Halloween Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats!! Why not! I love baking, cooking for myself, why not let HER in on the fun!! I hope she likes them! (I will update!)Want something to pass out to canine trick-or-treaters? DogTipper.com offers this recipe:Halloween Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats

    2½ cups whole wheat flour

    ½ cup pumpkin purée (not pumpkin pie filling)

    ½ cup peanut butter (organic, if you have it)

    2 teaspoons cinnamon

    1 teaspoon baking powder

    ½ cup water, or as needed

    Instructions:

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients except the water, then add water sparingly until dough is sticky. (The amount of water needed will depend on the oil content in the peanut butter.)

    Roll the dough on a lightly floured surface and cut into Halloween shapes.

    Bake on cookie sheet for about 20 minutes. Allow treats to cool completely before serving or refrigerating.

Your Turn

1.  What DID you use as a child when you went trick or treating? (Bag, pillow case, pumpkin, etc!?)

2.  Favorite candy EVER?

3.  Weekend Highlight?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Update and Week Ahead 10/25/14”

  1. Oh my gosh thank you for the kind words! That means a lot! ❤ It's nice to have friends you can be yourself around.

    The Rocky Horror thing sounds funny. Something bizarre? I have never actually watched the entire movie! Every time it would air on VH1 I would either fall asleep halfway through or get distracted with something else. Sad! I have no clue what I'm doing for Halloween or next weekend. Big question mark.

    The candy is cracking me up. Those candies in question were peanut butter chewy candy that did not taste like peanut butter. They were gross. I agree with Krackel, Reeses, Kit Kats, Butterfinger, and Twix.

    Like

  2. Twix and Snickers were definitely my favorites! (I wasn’t a big fan of Milky Ways or Almond Joys either. Or those weird black and orange ones that I could never bring myself to try. Do they still sell those?)

    I completely agree with you on Rocky Horror Picture Show, haha. I went with a couple friends to watch it when I was in grad school and it was definitely a unique experience.

    I miss getting to go trick or treating! I usually have to turn my porch light off because I never have actual candy in the house, but once, these kids knocked anyway because they saw us go into the house, so I had to open the door to tell them we had nothing. 😥 I sounded so sad about disappointing them that one of the kids comforted me and told me it was okay, haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

