Healthy Lifestyle

Saturday Safes and Saves 11.15.14

November 15th?! Already? sheeeshhhhhhhh November really DOES fly by!!

SAFE:  Stay Mindful

This is a great reminder, I am thinking of hanging it somewhere I will read it daily!

Here are eight of the most common barriers that keep you from being mindful:

  1. Thinking about the past and the future takes you out of the moment
  2. Multitasking
  3. Being in denial
  4. Attaching to thoughts or observations
  5. Pushing away thoughts or observations
  6. Having a lack of intention
  7. Having a lack of compassion
  8. Judging, analyzing, criticizing or evaluating

SAVE:  

cute and totally ME! $15 Old Navy

 

and these are super cute (and look warm and cozy) $9!

 

Loving the candy canes too!

 

SAFE:

I am exhausted. I guess between a crazy few days/weeks, it has finally caught up to me.

This entire week I was feeling like I could just stay home, cuddle up in bed and sleep all day. I really am looking forward to just being home (for a little bit anyway!) this weekend.

 

SAFE:

I am addicted to peanut butter + cream cheese …….TOGETHER

<3<3<3<3

SAFE:

I am FULL of contradictions

I am feeling…….I don’t know what I am feeling.

I can not focus or think clearly. I feel like I have so much I want to do, yet I am avoiding it for some reason.  A part of me whats to be productive and go, go, go, and another part of me just wants to relaxxxxxxxxxx and let go.  My shoulders are tense and stressed, my face and forehead feel like it has a permanent wrinkle from constant worry, stress or anxiety.  I feel mentally exhausted, and can not pin point why.

The weeks feel so long, yet so short. I feel like I am constantly contradicting myself.

I get easily annoyed. Yesterday I stopped at whole foods and was annoyed at a woman that asked me a few “customer service” related questions. I did NOT feel like talking to her or answering her questions (How often do you shop here? what do you like to buy here? Where else do you like to shop?)

I feel like I have a permanent SCOWL on my face at times…..

I felt the conversation was unimportant and un meaningful.  I have a difficult time doing ANYTHING I do not find meaning or purpose to.  That is why small talk annoys, frustrates and angers me so much.  I KNOW I need to slow down. I had no reason for being annoyed last night…….I had no where special to go, no urgent plans, nothing.  I am slowly having those moments where I feel calm and relaxed enough that I can actually enjoy things. I notice when I enjoy things, I am appreciating them.

Why do I get so irritated with people for wanting my time ?

 

I feel scared to give my time because I feel like then there will not be any time left for “me”.

I hate to be busy, but worse yet, I DREAD being un-productive, or relaxed…..

I say I LOVE and look forward to reading my paper and drinking my coffee each morning.  I truly WANT to , and on several occasions I really have……..other days (more often so) I RUSH through the paper, skimming the articles just to get to the “next page”, I take SO much in and yet it is not ABSORBING because I am not giving it my true attention.  While reading I am already thinking about the 500 other things I need, want, should , have to be doing.

THIS ANNOYS ME

I need to slow down and appreciate and ENJOY life.  I am always in too much of a hurry to move on to the next “thing”.  If I keep this up, I will never feel satisfied or truly happy.

The only time I am truly happy and satisfied is when I DO slow down, take things slow and really appreciate them.

SAFE:

Wow.

I am reading “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time” and it has really given me perspective and opened my eyes to the REAL world of autism and aspergers

Yes, I had a brother with autism. Yes I have been to NUMEROUS conferences, had various classes, worked for numerous years with students that were on the spectrum and yet I often times FORGET that I am in special education for a reason

Aspergers and autism does NOT understand sarcasm.  Say what you mean, mean what you say.  That is it.

“Everyone tells me to stop doing something, yet they do not tell me how LONG to stop it for”

This is so true. I get frustrated and angry with my students when I ask them to do something.  I should only be angry at myself for NOT expressing myself clear enough.  My students are doing EXACTLY what I say.  If I tell them to have a quiet mouth, they do, only to start talking again a few seconds after…….I NEVER told them HOW LONG to stay quiet for, what do I expect?

Thank you for the reminder of the necessity to clearly set my expectations 🙂  This is so helpful to me and ALL my students! ❤

I like and work BEST with clear expectations. My students deserve the same!

SAFE:

SAVE:  

I am making Bigos this weekend!!

I am super excited to see how it turns out!! I am a little hesitant to add the apples. I am afraid it will “sweeten” it up and I prefer it more sour!

 

SAVE:  

Easy Idea!  Painting with pom poms

Paint with Pom Poms

My kiddo’s will LOVE this, they do not really like to touch/feel paint, this will be a perfect fine/gross motor activity for them to experiment with! 🙂

SAVE:  

My next adventure

The Elvis Burger – Peanut Butter, bacon and banana atop a burger. MMMMM

I am just dying to try this burger!!  I think it will be in my very near future

 

SAVE:  Tiny Things

I am obsessed with tiny. little. things. They are CUTE. I want to put them “in my pocket” and keep ’em forever! 🙂  Here are a few of my favorite…..

 

Tiny Banana Tiny Teddy BearTiny BatTiny Human FeetTiny Donut CheeriosTiny SweatersFun board for dollhouses http://www.pinterest.com/shalalaa/dollhouses-faeries-trolls-goblins/This is the world's smallest working aquarium, which holds just two tea spoons of water. The miniature wonder, which is made of glass and measures just 30 mm. wide by 24 mm. high and 14 mm. deep, can be held in the palm of your hand. It is so small there is only room for these tiny zebra fish.There are 10 things that you need to consider when going off grid and living on the land.

SAVE:  Duvet covers

I have a beautiful, warm down comfortor………I really want to find the perfect duvet and revamp my bedroom 🙂

Lucianna Medallion Duvet Cover & Sham - Blue#Georgina #Duvet #Anthropologie

I LOVE how comfy this looks!!  Very practical!

US King size Natural linen bedding: stonewashed linen duvet cover "Stripes and Buttons" on Etsy, $281.46white

Pretty

Boho Bed

Natalia Duvet Cover & Sham #potterybarnteen. love love love. possibly for when i get my own room? :)

Cool coastal corals.  Pair with navy walls, white duvet cover, and accent with corals.  Guest bedroom. Done and done.

Your Turn

 

1.  Last time you felt irrationally annoyed with someone?

2.  Cold weather, love it or hate it?

3.  What is your favorite “hot” drink?? (Coffee, latte, cider, hot chocolate, tea, etc?)

Leave a Reply

