Healthy Lifestyle

Un-Manic Monday 11.24.14

YOU can make it an Un-Manic Monday 🙂

Perfect read for YOUR Monday Morning

9 Good Reminders that Will Change The Way You Think

My Un-Manic Goal for today:

Talk to one of my neighbors.  I always say “Hi/Bye” and run off, a few of my neighbors always try to talk to me….I need to slow down and spend a few minutes just talking to my neighbors. This is something I need a LOT of work on. I am never in a hurry to get someplace…..this is just how I am…”Gotta go, gotta go, no time to stop!”

It is exhausting!

Some days I NEED to be the tortoise 🙂

Speaking of being TOO busy. This could NOT have come at a more perfect time!

The Dis-ease of being Busy

 

Un-Manic Deal

I got a pair of these flannel sheets last week from Target and they are on sale again NEXT week for an even better price! I am grabbing up another set ASAP!

IMG_4264.JPG

 

Un-Manic FUN

Last week we rolled our pine-cones in paint to make turkey’s (see HERE)

TODAY I put all of our hard work to GOOD use.  Check out our FUN, EASY and team work Pine Cone Wreath!

IMG_4265.JPG

 

See the pretty paint colors?

IMG_4266.JPG

 

Un-Manic :  Cookie Trial #1

Ok, so my cookies…..FAIL

BUT let me explain….personally, I liked them. I know that no other human being (including Lily) would agree with me. Why?

They kind of tasted like dog treats, in fact they looked VERY similar to the ones I made for Lily a few weeks ago……those actually smelled better…….

HOWEVER, as a cookie, major FAIL. I think the bacon over powered, I used organic cocoa, they just were not SWEET enough for a cookie.  However as a savory “mini muffin” they are fabulous. They taste more savory than sweet, a slight hint of chocolate, too MUCH bacon for such a little cookie
So I am taking my BRILLIANT assistants suggestion (Thanks Amy) and for TRIAL # 2, I will be adding MORE maple syrup AND crumbling the bacon on TOP of the cookie instead of mixing it in…..I will keep you posted!

IMG_4268.JPG

(Notice how they are NEXT to the dog treat jar??)

Un-Manic Musings….

Today was a tough day for me. In fact the past FEW days have been tough.  I can not pin point the problem. I am healthy, I have a wonderful job, home, family, friends, why am I so down?

A few things occurred to me, which at first made me a bit sad and depressed, BUT I know I have to deal with these uneasy, uncomfortable feelings in order to GET PAST THEM!

Independence…….inspired by my cousin, Mike ❤

Right now I am an independent person. I love having my freedom

I love having control of my life
((Granted I’ve taken my control to unhealthy limits such as my eating and exercise but I am learning to control things in a more positive way))

I always thought I needed someone, and I DO need people, but NOT in the way I thought.  I thought I needed people to SAVE or help, I thought I needed people to save me, I thought I needed people to love me, in order for me to love myself.  I thought and relied on people for ALL the wrong things.  I am and have always been independent. I fooled myself and others for a long time making it seem like quite the opposite.  I never thought I was an independent, strong, person.  I am learning I can do things on my own, I can make decisions without needing justification from others. I prefer doing some things alone because I can focus better.  I lied to myself and others for many years , pretending I was not an independent person. I pretended to be a scared little girl that needed saving at times, other times I pretended to be super strong and take YOUR problems as my own.  I am learning balance. For me balance is important. Finding that right amount of “not too much, not too little”

Feeling Needed

I used to feel needed and like I had a purpose however lately I don’t feel very useful, helpful,or needed.  I loved yet hated feeling needed, at the same time.

The thing is the people in my life I really thought needed me really didn’t.  They never asked me to save them, help them,etc.  I just enjoyed doing things for them because it made me feel special and important and like I mattered

Yet I neglected myself during that time I neglected to battle my emotions, my feelings, and my eating disorder because I wanted to put my focus someplace  else; on someone else that needed me because I was just “perfect”

I know I’m not perfect.I am far from it and I also know that it doesn’t matter if anyone needs me or not just being meand living my life should be enough. I am realizing this but it is still difficult to deal with and often times it makes me feel sad and lonely, all my own doing. Now I just need to find ways of still feeling wanted/needed by myself

Yes it is nice to do things for others and I look forward to doing those things. They make me feel happy and good, but I am also scared that I am doing something I truly do NOT want to do, I have had that habit for a long time. So I need to be careful with my decisions and genuinely do things for others that I want to do

But I also need to find myself in healthy relationships where we both give and take

I am going to need to find a balance of not giving too much but yet giving enough. Right now I don’t think I’m capable of either. I only know either or I can’t find a happy medium.  I have difficulty doing that in many aspects of my life

 

Un-Manic Success!

I almost did not accomplish my goal today. Yikes
My goal was to stop for a moment and talk to a neighbor instead of running away or avoiding…..
After work I saw one of my neighbors, a very sweet lady that was walking to her condo.  My first instinct was to walk faster and avoid eye contact (maybe she won’t see me!) and I looked away from her……………..

THEN


I remembered my goal for the day. I stopped and turned around and I started to talk to her.  Yes I wanted to go for a walk with Lily.  Yes I needed to put the groceries away. Yes I needed to get a start on my evening.  However, I told myself that five minutes was not going to make or break me.  Maybe those five minutes would make me feel better 🙂  Maybe it would make HER feel better ❤

YOUR TURN

1.  Tell me one of your recipe fails.

2.  Something funny from your day?

3.  Share one un-manic moment from today.

Leave a Reply

