Healthy Lifestyle

Thankful Thursday 12.11.14

I am thankful

that I do not have any of the following toxic plants that are dangerous for pets! Lily is safe ❤

Perilous plants

Many of the plants that are popular at this time of year can be harmful and even poisonous to cats and dogs. Tina Wismer, a veterinarian and medical director at the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center, in Urbana, Illinois, offers a rundown of some hazardous seasonal plants.

Poinsettia: It’s an urban myth that this Christmastime staple is deadly. You do not have to banish it from your home for fear of a pet fatality. That said, keep it out of the reach of prying paws, because the flowers and leaves can upset your pet’s stomach.

Mistletoe: Consuming a few leaves or berries causes mild gastritis. But store-bought mistletoe often has plastic berries, and if large quantities of plastic are ingested by your dog, your vet may need to induce vomiting. If the plastic remains in the digestive tract, your pet may require surgery.

Kalanchoe: If ingested, this flowering succulent can lead to gastrointestinal issues.

Amaryllis: Eating the flower or the stem can cause vomiting. But consuming the bulb is most harmful, resulting in hemorrhagic gastroenteritis and neurological issues.

American Holly: This plant contains potentially toxic compounds that can cause gastrointestinal irritation.

 

I am thankful

for being able to see differently.

Yes my student think differently.  That does not make them different. It makes them human and unique.  It is difficult trying to figure out the way they think, but it is pretty amazing when you finally see things clearly.

Most of my students have no idea what a secret is.  To us, it is such an easy concept. Duh, a secret, is a …….secret!  I have realized how difficult it is to explain and teach these sort of things to my students.  I found this great Secret Santa activity I definitely plan on challenging my students with. First things first, lets work on learning what a SECRET is 🙂

 

I am thankful

for my friends. They remind me that I don’t have to force myself to do things I don’t feel like doing.  For example a friend told me never to feel guilty about missing a blogging session.  She is absolutely right!!! I tend to fall back in my old ways and beat myself up over things I do not really want to do.  It is okay!  Things do not have to be perfect and consistent ALL the time. Life is short. I need to do what makes me feel good and not dwell on what I THINK I should do

 

I am thankful

My new bamboo recipe holder! 🙂

IMG_4443IMG_4442IMG_4444

I am thankful

new recipes and FOODIMG_4440

I loved making these stuffed peppers yesterday!! Yum!! Such a great winter comfort food!

IMG_4439

 

I am thankful

Lists. Lists and MORE LISTS!! 🙂

Here is a recent one…….of many

IMG_4445

Your Turn

1.  Two foods you are thankful for

2. two people you are thankful for

3.  Two things you are thankful for being able to forgive/forget about 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

