Healthy Lifestyle, recipes

This or thatI

I absolutely love cottage cheese!! I like it as a “dessert” and use it in various recipes. My favorite snack is cottage cheese with apple slices!

I usually purchase organic cottage cheese from either Trader Joes, Wegmans or Whole Foods. I will review them here in my This or That series 🙂

 

1.  Whole Foods Organic Low Fat Cottage Cheese

What Whole Foods says:

Made with milk from cows not treated with rBGH. The FDA has said there is no significant difference between milk from cows treated with rBGH and untreated cows. No test can now distinguish between milk from treated and untreated cows.

Ingredients:  

Cultured pasteurized grade a organic nonfat milk, pasteurized grade a organic milk, pasteurized organic cream, salt, stabilizer (organic guar gum, xanthan gum, carrageenan, organic locust bean gum), vitamin a palmitate, carbon dioxide (to maintain freshness).

Allergen Info: 

Contains milk ingredients. Produced in a facility that processes eggs and s

 

What Diana Says:
I love this cottage cheese! I prefer small curds, and this is JUST that!  It is a bit “dryer” than some cottage cheeses (some have  a lot of liquid) I love the texture of this one! Most importantly I love the taste! Yum! This is fabulous! A tad bit of sweetness, but its creamy and delightful in so many ways!

Love: The texture and the taste!

Price:  $3.29

2.  Traders Joe’s Organic Lowfat Cottage Cheese

Organic Lowfat Cottage Cheese

What Trader Joe’s says:

Without even realizing it, we’ve accumulated quite a selection of foods from nursery rhymes.  In the fall we have pumpkins, just like “Peter, Peter Pumpkin Eater”.  We have pies, like those found in “Sing a Song of Sixpence”, though admittedly, ours do not have blackbirds baked inside them.  And in our dairy case you’ll find curds & whey, much like that enjoyed by “Little Miss Muffet”, and also known as Cottage Cheese.  Trader Joe’s Organic Lowfat Cottage Cheese is worthy of its own nursery rhyme. Crafted with organic milk, it boasts large and creamy curds that melt in your mouth, and fantastic, sweet-yet-slightly-tangy flavor that might just surprise you.  Try it for breakfast with fresh fruit or preserves.  Or pair it with tuna for lunch.  You can even use it to replace ricotta cheese in your favorite recipes – this is a good way to cut calories without sacrificing flavor or texture.  It’s$3.49 for a 16 ounce container.

What Diana says:

I buy this cottage cheese for a few reasons. Number 1- Trader Joes is ON MY WAY HOME from work, so it is so convenient to pop in. I go through a LOT of cottage cheese weekly, so I will always grab a tub or two when I visit.
The curds are very large. The texture is a bit watery for my liking (If you know me, I like my things DRY!)  The taste is fabulous however. I find myself having to “chew” through the curds , which is not really a big deal, but if I had a choice, I would choose small, dryer curds. However the taste makes up for it. I will continue to buy and eat this cottage cheese up!

Love:  the convenience, and the taste

Price:  $3.49

3.  Wegmans Organic Lowfat Cottage Cheese

What Wegmans says:

Gluten free. Heart healthy. While many factors affect heart disease, diets low in saturated fat and cholesterol may reduce the risk of this disease. Make foods like this, part of your plan for heart healthful eating. Grade A. USDA organic. Per 1/2 Cup (110 g): 80 calories; 1 g sat fat (6% DV); 300 mg sodium (12% DV); 3 g sugars. Certified organic by MOSA. Chosen with care! Our Food You Feel Good About yellow banner is your shortcut to great-tasting products with no artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. When you see organic above the banner you’ll know it has also been produced in compliance with USDA organic standards. We only offer products we love – and we hope you’ll love them, too. If not, we’ll give you your money back – The Wegmans Family.

Ingredients

Organic Grade A Skim Milk, Organic Grade A Milk, Organic Grade A Cream, Salt, Live Active Cultures.

Warnings

Allergens: Contains milk.

Directions

Keep refrigerated. Use by date stamped on bottom of cup.

What Diana Says:

Love: this cottage cheese! I just hate that Wegmans is in an inconvenient location for me and difficult to get to on a daily basis.  Once again, I love the smaller curds, dryer texture. Overall flavor is very similar to the Whole Foods brand. This one reminds me of the “Friendship” brand variety.

Price:  $3.49

Other “Cheesy” facts

Here is an article on some pro’s and con’s of organic cottage cheese

Cottage Cheese

Stuck inside and BORED, make your own cottage cheese 🙂

Not sure HOW to eat your cottage cheese, here are 25 uses and recipes

 

 

Leave a Reply

