Healthy Lifestyle, recipes, Style

Thankful Thursday

Thankful for

the THREE day weekend coming up for me!

If you have kiddo’s and they love science, you MAY want to check out this Lakeshore Event! (I believe it is at ALL Locations)

Science Fair is this Saturday, January 17!

Teachers! Lakeshore is giving away free “Bug Viewer” with a $20 store purchase 🙂 Spring is coming!

Thankful for

Soup!

I am honestly NOT a fan. You would think with the cold chilly weather, soup would be on my mind (Or in my tummy) But its just not.   I did make a pretty delicious shitake mushroom soup last week, but it is not something I could, or would want to eat on a daily basis….Oatmeal on the other hand……..

Interested in having a SOUP SWAP!?  Here are some great ideas!

Thankful for

not paying the full price of $99 for the Organic Deep Cleaning Facial with cold mask.

I really needed a good deep cleaning, my winter skin, yuck.  So I purchased this living social deal for $39 for the deal below.

Organic Deep Cleaning Facial with Cold Mask (60 Minutes)
An intense cleansing facial for those who need a little more than the basic European facial. Skin is thoroughly analyzed, cleansed and toned. Our powerful papaya enzyme exfoliate is used to deep clean clogged pores and help eliminate blackheads. Facial is completed with a nourishing and soothing Organic moisturizer and our signature shoulder massage.

Not once but TWO times she tried pushing me to “upgrade” my package. For an extra $20 I could have the collagen mask vs. the cold mask, which apparently would be very GOOD for my dry skin. I declined not once, but TWICE.The salon was located in a strip/shopping mall. The appearance was ok. It was a bit dark, looked run down from the outside, inside it was better. The facial room was decent. Not terrible, but not terribly wonderful either…..my Esthetician did not tell me which products she was using on me, and had a very strong accent so it was difficult to follow what she was trying to explain to me.

I was a bit chilly during the facial. I am used to a heated bed (lol spoiled, right?) and I am always cold to begin with, so I was not extremely comfortable during the process. I did enjoy the steam……ahhhhhhh it felt good.  The extractions were weird. She used some type of tool to scrape my face. I was not really sure what she was doing or using, and she did not describe it, which I really did not like. Luckily I have had facials before, so I sort of knew the process. Otherwise, I would have been freaking out “Whhhhhhhhhhhhy is she scraping my face!?! Wtf!?!”

 

The product did not smell great, but it did not smell terrible either. I prefer subtle scents, my favorite it eucalyptus or “minty” undertone. I also like the clean “orange” smell. Neither of my favorite scents were pleasant.

Overall the experience was not bad. I would not pay the full price, and would most likely NOT return with a groupon deal. If I received it as a gift? I would probably use it, possibly request a different esthetician next time, maybe that would sway my opinion? who knows.

In case you are interested in checking out the salon. Here is the info:

APS Day Spa, Marlton NJ

 

Thankful for

IMG_4487

my mother and father taking the steps to take care of themselves by going to the doctor for some routine things 🙂  ❤  Please please please take care of YOU!

Thankful for

love

20 Ways to Love The One You’re With

Thankful for

Unhealthy Clean Eating Graphic

reminders like this to keep myself in check.  I need to be mindful (and so do you) that your healthy habits truly ARE healthy and not turning into negative, obsessive behaviors.

Thankful for

continuing to grow and develop yourself

“You have two assets that you can never get back once you’ve lost them: your body and your mind. Most people stop growing and working on themselves in their 20s. Most people in their 30s are too busy to worry about self-improvement. But if you’re one of the few who continues to educate themselves, evolve their thinking and take care of their mental and physical health, you will be light-years ahead of the pack by 40.” (Stan, 48)

It follows that if one can still change in their 30s—and should continue to change in their 30s—then one must continue to work to improve and grow. Many readers related the choice of going back to school and getting their degrees in their 30s as one of the most useful things they had ever done. Others talked of taking extra seminars and courses to get a leg up. Others started their first businesses or moved to new countries. Others checked themselves into therapy or began a meditation practice.

 As Warren Buffett once said, the greatest investment a young person can make is in their own education, in their own mind. Because money comes and goes. Relationships come and go. But what you learn once stays with you forever.

“The number one goal should be to try to become a better person, partner, parent, friend, colleague etc.—in other words to grow as an individual.” (Aimilia, 39)

Thankful for

Bruiser the blue, boy, Betta…..ha!

Ok, so I have to admit, it is KINDA nice having this little guy on my desk…..you can’t see him in this picture

2015/01/img_4847.jpg2015/01/img_4845.jpg

 

But, here he is 🙂

 

IMG_4842

 

Your Turn

1.  What are you thankful for today?

2.  Have you ever purchased a groupon deal that you loved? loathed?

3.  What is your current fear?

 

 

1 thought on “Thankful Thursday”

Leave a Reply

