Healthy Lifestyle

Ten Things (I Learned) Tuesday 5.04.15

1. Ice cream is VERY expensive in Punjab Provence (Pakistan)

Source:  5 year old student 🙂

So naturally, I was curious. Is this just a ploy to get a child to eat his broccoli? “No you can not have ice cream, it is too expensive in Pakistan.”  OR is there some truth behind this?!

So I was unable to find any solid PROOF that ice cream in fact IS overly expensive in Pakistan, but I did find out that it is leader to one to Halls Ice cream (See below)

WALL’S PAKISTANWall's Pakistan

Wall’s came to Pakistan in 1995 establishing the Wall’s factory on Multan Road in Lahore. Fully equipped with state of the art machinery, the Wall’s factory is a standard of hygiene and technology in the region and has become synonymous with quality. Some of the most popular brands loved by the masses are now linked to Wall’s; making an irresistible combination that few could refuse.

KEY FACTS ABOUT WALL’S PAKISTAN:

  • Wall’s is a leader in Ice cream and frozen goods.
  • All Wall’s products are made with Halal ingredients in a Halal compliant manne

Pakistan is ALSO home to the Faludah (home made with natural ingredients, THIS is right up my alley!)

CANON OPIS 135

What’s unique about this ice cream was the home-made ingredients. Inside the creamy, succulent ice cream were colourful mixture of Kurma, Raisins, Almonds, Nuts, Hazelnuts, Milk, Yoghurt, Fruit pieces, Creams, lots creams, soda, prunes, sugary things….the list goes on.

reminds me of a pretty fabulous milkshake!

I am a huge fan of almond and pistachio, SO these look pretty awesome to me!

Pakistani Dishes; Qulfi (Ice Cream) with pistachio and almond - Pakistani Food

Bottom Line:  Sorry little guy, no firm proof that ice cream is THAT expensive in Pakistan. Keep on eating that broccoli! But hey, I am NOT going to be the one to break it to him (hopefully he does NOT read my blog! )  🙂

2. Temper tantrums are complicated

Source:  Stuff You Should Know How Temper Tantrums Work

Yes.  I knew this. However, I too fall into the category or patience, or LACK of patience. Yes. It is normal for children to have tantrums. I know this. However, it was just eye opening to see how much of it plays a role on brain development as well as age

.

I listened to a great podcast today on how temper tantrums work.

The statistics are pretty incredible. Enough to give you a headache 🙂

between 50 and 80 percent of 2- and 3-year-old boys and girls experience at least one temper tantrum per week, and 20 percent boil over every day

So, whats the deal? Are you little angels just being BRATS? Or is there something else behind it? Truth: There IS something else. The part of the brain, prefrontal cortex (PFC), does not typically start developing and “evolving” in children until the age of 4.  This in turn provides the children with an imbalance. They are angry, frustrated, or bothered and CAN NOT verbally express themselves, because, developmentally they CAN’T. This is why you see a decrease in tantrums and children get older, they begin to develop and the prefrontal cortex begins to work, therefor your little angels can TELL you what is wrong!

This exactly explains why students and children on the spectrum (ASD) tend to demonstrate tantrums LATER in childhood. They may be 7, 8, 9 years old, but functioning as a 2-3 year old 🙂

Like I said, stuff I knew, but these little reminders and research/scientific based answers give ME so much clarity!

3. One of my dreams have come true….

So I JUST learnt that there is a HOT DOG EATING CONTEST on Sunday May 31st in Myrtle Beach 🙂 🙂 🙂

Along with other things like a 5k, fitness competition, crossfit challenge, paddleboard…..but hey I am kinda excited for the hot dog eating competition!!!  Maybe I will go !

4. The Royal baby has a pretty awesome name

The princess

Charlotte Elizabeth Diana

5. My love of wood
My taste changes often. Lately I am on a wood kick
This table from West Elm

IMG_4301.JPG

This DIY bed frame

IMG_4302.JPG
6. These are the MOST comfortable shoes EVER

I just picked up another pair last night at Marshalls 🙂

7. I love comfy, flow-y clothes

Blue tank and exuma casual pantsFrom francescas! finally something on pinterest I could actually go buybohemian beach  maxi dress RP by Splashtablet iPad Cases - the kitchen & shower iPad case that sticks everywhere. Winter Sale prices on Amazon Now!Back Criss Cross Top - White Fall in love with this flowy white tank featuring a cutout back with criss-cross straps

I think it is so feminine, pretty and COMFORTABLE!

8. Bee’s can “See”

Fact:  most bee’s have sight!  So if they are constantly “bugging” you (LOLOL) do not wear floral scents, or prints!!!  See mom! Even more reason to go with neutral attire!

No! No! NO!

This is a beautiful print with bright colors - Vivienne Floral Print Sleeveless Blouse from Daniel Rainn I wear a MEDIUM in his pieces

9. Some days things just do not go as planned

 

I “planned” on staying LATE yesterday at school to complete some paper work. I found myself exhausted, burnt out, and just plain DONE. I could not focus. I had to leave. I let it go. I can not give it my “all” when I feel THAT drained. So life is NOT always as planned 🙂 Its ok, I will finish when I am ready!

10. I NEED to give up gum, well sugar free anyway

chewing-gum-115162_1280

I have had awful tummy pains, and I KNOW the reason is GUM! I can not be around a pack alone, EVER. It will be gone within minutes. I chew it, then spit it, grab another piece. I am not sure what satisfaction I am actually getting from it, it tends to “calm” me, BUT I really need to find other ways to do so, because I can NOT handle the tummy pain and it is just not worth it!

So, are you experiencing tummy pain? Are you a “chewaholic”?  read here to find out!

Leave a Reply

