Healthy Lifestyle

Saturday Safes

What makes you feel safe?

 

For me. It is stability. Security. family. friends.

BUT

it is also routine and the SAME thing.

This by no means is a bad thing. However I am a very all or nothing, black or white type of person and thinker. So for me, being safe means setting a rigid routine that I do not like breaking free from. Which in turn leaves me…….empty.

I have safe foods. Safe exercises. Safe people, places, things, etc, etc, etc.

It is safe to say (haha) That I (too) easily fall into playing things and doing things the “safe” way.

I associate safety with security. YET if I do not venture out of my safe little bubble. I will never get to see what my likes or dislikes are. I will not be able to grow. I will not be able to truly enjoy life. Right now, safe is just that………safe. It is also pretty boring and often times I feel like I am just going through the motions.  Slowly I am forcing myself to do things OUT of my comfort zone. It is hard, but I am finding a select few things along the way that I am loving. If I never left my comfort zone. I would never have known.

Yes, there are often more things I dislike during this exploration, but I also know the more I continue to step out of that safe zone, the more I will begin to find happiness and pleasure.

Here are just a few of the things I am finding when I leave this comfort zone  OR things I plan on trying to see if I will enjoy:

  • Teaching new grade levels, settings, even states!

  • new yoga classes, with new instructors! ( I want to branch out and try different types of yoga now)I have also limited myself and told myself not to push because of an old hamstring injury………well I am finally beginning to feel stronger and want to slowly try new things…..specifically? inversions!
  • meditation. Yes, I have tried it on my own, but I am ready to branch out of my comfort zone and try it with others. I almost took a class here today, but chickened out because I did not see anyone taking the class. I did not want to be the only one, although I probably would not have been. Next time 🙂
  • do more on my weekends. I am falling into routine and pattern. I find myself getting angry or upset if my routine is changed up.  If I never branch out and go, travel, see new things or places, I will be stuck in a rut and not really grow. A few things I’d like to do?  this , a day trip here and must eat/visit Lexington Market, and a great hike
  • say YES to social invitations that sound right for me 🙂
  • trusting my gut and instinct and NOT second guessing myself
  • speaking up and speaking my mind and NOT worrying if someone won’t like me if I say something they do not agree with
  • plan a vacation that is completely out of my comfort zone like this
  • continuing to embrace and face my negative or sad feelings because without them, I would never know what joy and happiness felt like
  • laughing more. I really, really, REALLY need to work on this. Eh, none of these sound very appealing at the moment
  • go to a burlesque show 🙂
  • read something out of my comfort zone…..ugh, that means fantasy! gah!
  • try foods I have never had…….you never know what you may like!  I’m talking about this,  not this
  • being ok with things when they Don’t Go How I Expect
  • practice gratitude. I would love to say to myself what I am grateful for every time I worry about something (that I can not control anyway!)

So it looks like I have some work cut out for myself. Some challenges.  I am hoping to continue to find my likes and dislikes by trying and doing new things, because after all, isn’t that what life is about?

 

YOUR TURN

 

I would LOVE to hear of things you have done (or plan to do) that are out of your comfort zone!

 

Leave a Reply

