Healthy Lifestyle

Guest Blog Post: Feature Teacher

Welcome to my FIRST special Feature Teacher post!

Image result for teacher feature

I am very fortunate to have the opportunity to know some amazing people , that also happen to be some of the most amazing teachers.

We get so wrapped up in our every day lives that sometimes we fail to see or “ask” those closest to us how they think and feel.  I want to give these amazing teachers an opportunity to shine and share some of their experiences, thoughts and tips with the ……..world!

 

My first Feature Teacher, is someone I went to school with.

Image result for holy family university

Her passion and love for children and teaching was apparent from the first day I met her.  I was fortunate to have the opportunity to student teach with her, I feel we made a pretty incredible team 🙂  (Remember the pumpkin passing A,B, C activity we created??!)

Image result for plastic pumpkin game I am pretty certain she teaches the toughest grade (kindergarten)

Image result for kindergarten cop

Not only is patience required, but that is such an impressionable time in children’s lives…….If I had my own child, I would want to ensure “J” was their teacher

 Not only is she an amazing teacher, she is also a mother, wife , daughter and friend.  Meet “J” and lets see what she has to share……..

How long have you been teaching?
 8 years
What grade(s) do you currently teach?
 Kindergarten
Image result for welcome to kindergarten
What is your favorite subject to teach? Why?
I love teaching writing especially in kindergarten to see stick people and scribbles transform to a sentence with an illustration is amazing!
Image result for teach writing
What made you want to become a teacher?
I love children and I earnestly care about their well-being.
What type of technology do you use in the classroom?
 
Smartboard and a mac.
Related image
Image result for mac computers
What are your thoughts on teaching cursive handwriting?
Image result for muggie maggie book
I am more concerned with print in my world.
Image result for kindergarten printing
Everyone always asks me “What do teachers like to get”…Although never expected, it is nice to get spoiled a bit. What do you enjoy receiving best? (Homemade treats, wawa gift card, target, etc) BE specific 🙂
A wawa gift certificate was terrific:)
Image result for wawa
What are your favorite websites to use? Why?
I am on youtube all the time. I love Harry Kindergarten songs and Sesame Street videos for my visual and auditory learners!
Image result for harry kindergarten
Image result for sesame street
Anything else you would like to share?
Regardless of any paperwork, and there is a ton, I do love my profession and feel like I am contributing positively to the future.

Image result for children are our futureImage result for children are our futureImage result for drowning in paperwork

1 thought on “Guest Blog Post: Feature Teacher”

  1. Aww, this is an awesome series! I’ve heard about smartboards and the ICU actually has one in the conference room, but…it unfortunately doesn’t work, haha.

    And oh, Wawa. Definitely wouldn’t say no to that! 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

